American Board of Wound Management

Application Process

Submit your application for the CWCA®, CWS®, or CWSP® exam today!

Exam Scheduling
& Locations

ABWM offers continuous testing at over 200 locations.

Neither the ABWM nor the CWS®, CWCA® or CWSP® credentials are affiliated with the American College of Clinical Wound Specialists.

CWS: Why Certify?

Why should you become a CWS?

The Certified Wound Specialist (CWS) board certification is a formal recognition of a master level knowledge and specialty practice in wound management.

The CWS board certification is a prestigious and rigorous certification in wound care, and demonstrates a distinct and specialized expertise in the practice. The CWS credential displays to patients, employers and peers a dedication to the highest standards and achievement in wound care.

Becoming a CWS will help you:

  • Achieve board certification, a formal recognition of a master level knowledge and specialty practice in wound management.
  • Enhance the team approach that is essential to successful wound management.
  • Become recognized as a specialist; an expert in wound care.
  • Demonstrate a dedication to the highest standards in wound care, essential in the development of a comprehensive wound management program.
  • Improve the quality of wound care for your patients.
  • Cooperate and exchange resources with the various disciplines and organizations involved in wound care.
  • Reduce the costs of providing wound care in your facility or practice.
  • Be an on-site resource to educate and train colleagues involved in wound management.
  • Market wound management services as a niche benefit of your facility or practice.
  • Become part of a larger, multi-disciplinary community dedicated to delivering, improving, and advancing the practice of wound care.

Who is Eligible?

  • A licensed DO, DPM, DVM, MD, NP, PA, PT, RD or RN with 3 or more years of clinical wound care experience.
  • Candidates must possess a full and unrestricted professional license in at least one state and in all states in which the candidate currently practices.

Examples: Physicians, podiatrists, physical therapists, nurses, and other healthcare providers.

On April 30, 2013, the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) granted reaccreditation to the American Board of Wound Management Certified Wound Specialist (CWS) for demonstrating compliance with the NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly the National Organization for Competency Assurance). The NCCA Standards were created in 1977 and updated in 2003 to ensure certification programs adhere to modern standards of practice for the certification industry.  The American Board of Wound Management joins an elite group of more than 130 organizations representing over 330 programs that have received and maintained NCCA accreditation.

back to top

© American Board of Wound Management | 1800 M Street, NW Suite 400S Washington, D.C. 20036 | PH: 202-457-8408, FX: 202-530-0659 | Contact Us | Home